October 1-15, 2017 – Private School Affidavit Filing Period
(See Below for Details)
October 15-19, 2017 – Fall Camp Out at Carpinteria
Private School Affidavit
First time homeschoolers
First time homeschoolers, choosing to file a private school affidavit (PSA), you may file anytime during the school year, unless you become your own school at the beginning of a school year, at which time, you would wait until the October 1st through 15th filing period. The CDE does not accept affidavits during the months of August and September, even if your school begins during these months. The current PSA is only for the current school year. You need to file annually if you continue to homeschool after the current school year.
Once you submit the form and receive your confirmation number, you should print a copy for your records.
Continuing homeschoolers that homeschool via a private school affidavit (PSA), the filing period is Oct. 1 through Oct. 15, 2017. PLEASE DO NOT FILE BEFORE OCT. 1! The CDE does not accept affidavits during the months of August and September, even if your school begins during these months. For more information about the PSA, click here.
You can either use this web address for the on-line form (under 6 students) is: http://www3.cde.ca.gov/psa/form.asp?formtype=blank or click on the button below.
Issues with submitting the PSA: Try switching to another browser, such as Internet Explorer or Firefox.
CHN updated the instructions when the PSA became available. There were no changes from the prior year’s form. Click the button below to access CHN’s easy to use, line-by-line directions for filing the PSA for the 2017-2018 school year.
Download includes all forms you’ll need to establish and keep records for your Private School Affidavit (PSA) homeschool plus curriculum aids, reading lists, chore charts, support group helps, and more. For a complete listing of the contents, click here.
$6 CHN Members – $10 Non-Members Purchase Download
2017-2018 Student and Teacher ID Cards
now available in the CHN Store
California Homeschool Network is a statewide grassroots organization dedicated to protecting the fundamental right of parents to educate their children. Our website provides information about CHN, current state and federal legislation affecting homeschooling families, and how to get started educating your children at home.
California law requires that all children between the ages of 6 and 18 attend a public full-time day school unless they are exempted. Understanding your options and abiding by the law will help you avoid truancy.
To learn more about homeschooling, visit our How to Homeschool page! You will find a wealth of information there, including Frequently Asked Questions, info on record-keeping, preschool, high school, and so much more! If you need assistance, feel free to contact CHN.
HR610 & HR899
There are currently two bills in Congress with the potential of affecting homeschoolers in California. HR 610 and HR 899. California Homeschool Network is aware of these bills and currently monitoring them. CHN has a statement and more information about this on the “Current Bills & Alerts” page.
SB 18 did not go to the rules committee until the 12th. The rules committee meets every Wednesday afternoon, so they would not have had it for their meeting on the 11th. You should be able to find it on their docket on the 18th. The first committee hearing and vote is not likely to take place for at least two months.
Senator de Leon is the current head of the rules committee. You could make contact with his office for info or this number directly to the committee office 916-651-4120. Or just wait until a hearing is scheduled or it reaches the Senate floor.
Click here for more information.
CHN strongly opposed this bill. AB 713 did not advance out of the Senate Appropriations Committee. Click here for current updates, analysis, and more information.
CHN strongly opposed this bill which has now been signed into law. Click here for analysis of how this bill affects you.