CHN Board of Trustees

The CHN Board of Trustees is appointed, and CHN volunteers are encouraged to apply to be considered for the Board.

Board of Trustees

Pam Dowling — President     Email Pam

Martin Forte — Vice President    Email Martin

Rhonda Hamilton — Treasurer    Email Rhonda

Trina Rueber — Secretary    Email Trina

Siri Hirth — Trustee    Email Siri

To contact the entire Board of Trustees email trustees@californiahomeschool.net.

CHN members have the right to request a copy of meeting minutes. To do so, please specify the meeting date and submit an e-mail to the Secretary on the Board of Trustees.

CHN is a 501(c)3 tax exempt organization.


CHN Committees

CHN 800 Hotline Hostess:

Answers the CHN 800 number, answers questions about homeschooling and CHN.

Rhonda Hamilton – 800 Hostess
(800) 327-5339

Ballot Committee:

Conducts fair and impartial elections according to CHN’s Bylaws.

Tracy Wittman – Elections Chair
Contact the Elections Committee at elections@californiahomeschool.net

Camping Committee:

Plans our CHN camping trips!

Tina Janzen – Camping Chair
Email the Camping Committee at camping@californiahomeschool.net.

Events Committee:

Keeps track of homeschool days, field trips, and other events and announces them.

Event committee members needed!
Contact Outreach at outreach@californiahomeschool.net to join the team!

Expo Committee:

Plans CHN’s annual Family Expo

Rhonda Hamilton – Expo Committee Chair
Email the Expo Committee at expo@californiahomeschool.net.

Membership Committee:

Maintains updated and accurate membership records.

Rhonda Hamilton – Membership Secretary
Email the Membership Committee at membership@californiahomeschool.net.

Legislative Monitoring Committee:

Identifies legislation that poses a threat to homeschooling, in accordance with policies set by the Board; informs CHN’s Board and general membership so that they may take appropriate action.

Martin Forte – Legislative Chair
Email the Legislation Monitoring Committee at legislation@californiahomeschool.net.

Legal Rights Committee:

Acts as an information and referral clearinghouse for matters relating to the current legal status of homeschoolers in California.
Legal Team volunteers needed!      Contact the Legal Committee to join the team!

Caitlyn Obolsky- Legal Chair
Email the Legal Committee at legal@californiahomeschool.net.

Publications Committee:

Develops and produces materials published and copyrighted by CHN and offered for sale to the general public.

Email the Publications Committee at publications@californiahomeschool.net.

Local Contacts Committee:

Recruits and trains representatives from each county to serve their local community as an information resource. Visit our Local Contact page for more information.

Michai Freeman – Local Contact Chair
Email the Local Contacts Committee at localcontacts@californiahomeschool.net.

Outreach Committee:

Promotes public awareness of homeschooling and CHN through TV, radio, print media, and outreach events.

Teresa Fitzpatrick – Outreach Chair
Email the Outreach Committee at outreach@californiahomeschool.net.

Newsletter Committee:

Responsible for content, layout, advertising, and design of the CHNews and CHNzine.  CHNews Team Volunteers needed!   Contact the Newsletter Committee to volunteer.

Rachel Huffmire – Layout and Contributor
Martin Forte – Editor
Email the CHNews Editor at editor@californiahomeschool.net.

Social Media Committee:

Moderates CHN’s Facebook Groups

Siri Hirth – Social Media Chair
Email the Social Media Chair at socialmedia@californiahomeschool.net.

Volunteer Committee:

Matches interested volunteers with CHN projects.

Rhonda Hamilton – Volunteer Chair
Email the Volunteer Committee at volunteers@californiahomeschool.net.

Web Committee

Designs and manages CHN’s website.

Rhonda Hamilton – Webmaster
Email the Web Committee at webmaster@californiahomeschool.net.